Kim Richey

Shares new single from album Edgeland out 30th March on Yep Roc 

Grammy-nominated acclaimed singer/songwriter Kim Richey has shared a new track from her forthcoming album Edgeland, released 30th March on Yep Roc Records. 

"Chase Wild Horses" is the new single, in which Richey explains "I wrote [Chase Wild Horses] with one of my most favorite people - Mike Henderson. You might recognize his name from the beginnings of The Steeldrivers when Chris Stapleton was singing in the band. He and Chris teamed up on a bunch of songs on Chris’ latest record. I’m proud to know this fellow and to get to make up songs with him."  .

Kim Richey

Announces new album Edgeland on 30th March on Yep Roc


Recorded in Nashville, Edgeland is Richey’s eighth studio album was produced by Brad Jones (Over the Rhine, Hayes Carll, Josh Rouse). A who’s who of Nashville players joined Richey in the studio, including Dan Dugmore (multi-instrumentalist); Jerry Roe (drums); Pat Sansone (multi-instrumentalist); Doug Lancio (multi-instrumentalist); Dan Cohen (multi-instrumentalist); Chris Carmichael (string arranger); and Robyn Hitchcock (guitar).

The follow up to 2013’s Thorn In My Heart, the album offers 12 original compositions and features songwriting collaborations with Maendo Sanz, Mike Henderson, Bill Deasy, Al Anderson, Jenny Queen, Harry Hoke, Chuck Prophet and Pat McLaughlin, with the latter two also playing guitar and mandolin, respectively, on the album.  

Since the release of her 1995 self-titled debut album, Richey has “won raves for her sweetly alluring, folk-friendly brand of country” (World Café), while Bitter Sweet (1997) and Glimmer (1999) cemented her status as a gifted singer/songwriter. Subsequent releases – Rise (2002), Chinese Boxes (2007), and Wreck Your Wheels (2010), and Thorn In My Heart (2013) – followed and garnered acclaim that “she writes some of the most beguiling melodies and freshest chord changes of her generation.” (Los Angeles Times).

As a songwriter, Richey has written two Number One hits for Radney Foster (“Nobody Wins”) and Trisha Yearwood (“Believe Me Baby”), the latter of which was Grammy-nominated, as well as tunes for Mary Chapin Carpenter, Gretchen Peters, Patty Loveless, Jamie Lawson and Jim Lauderdale. Her vocals also appear on Jason Isbell’s praised Southeastern album as well as albums by Ryan Adams and Shawn Colvin.

The album is now available for pre-order. 

UK tour dates supporting Gretchen Peters:
19 May - Stamford Corn Exchange, Stamford
20  May - The Stables, Milton Keynes
22  May - The Queens Hall, Edinburgh
23  May - The Sage, Gateshead
25  May - Birmingham Town Hall, Birmingham
26  May - The Atkinson, Southport
27  May - RNCM, Manchester
30  May - Leeds City Varieties, Leeds
31  May - The Apex, Bury St Edmunds
02 June - St. George’s Hall, Bristol
03 June - Pavilion Theatre, Worthing
12 June - St. David’s Hall, Cardiff
13 June - Cadogan Hall, London

Print Print | Sitemap
All content Copyright Melographic unless stated