Straight off the back of a string of summer gigs and festivals up and down the country, The RPMs are back and all revved up with a bigger sound than before. New single ‘Your Ghost is an upbeat keyboard driven number that fuses widescreen melancholia against a classic backdrop of modern indie pop, to create a song that has all the promise of a future indie pop classic in waiting. Check it out here.

The RPMs recently released their second EP ‘Agents Of Change’ in June 2017 through Xtra Mile Recordings. The release revealed a band getting to grips with coming of age in an increasingly volatile world with the band offering their take on the hold of social media in modern life. They followed their release with a run of shows throughout the spring and summer months, including supports with We Are Scientists. Alongside this they also played Camden Rocks, Isle of Wight Festival, Glastonbury Festival, Butefest,110 Above, Big Feastival (run by Jamie Oliver and Alex James from Blur) and RivFest in honour of the memory of River Reeves and the members of Viola Beach.

The EP continued to win them fans on the radio, including airplay of lead single 'Oh My God' from Huw Stephens, Steve Lamacq, Chris Hawkins and Tom Robinson across BBC 6 Music and Radio 1, BBC Introducing in The South & the Radio X Evening Playlist. More recently, ‘Things I Forgot To Do’
was added to Huw Stephens' Best of BBC Introducing playlist as well as the Radio X Evening Playlist and John Kennedy Recommends on Radio X.

Fuelled by the support they have received from national radio on recent singles 'Oh My God' and 'Things I Forgot To Do’, the band is continuing to evolve their sound. They have always been about writing very hooky pop songs wrapped up in an indie package, but they are more and more about making hooky songs you can dance to as well. They've never been afraid to embrace their empathy for pop music, hence their earlier tag line 'rock band, not afraid of a good pop tune’. They wanted to create a sound that was the sum of all their influences, old and contemporary, mixing electronic music with live instruments. With that they decided to bring keyboards and lead guitar in to liberate the songwriting and brought Gethin Pearson (Mallory Knox / Charli XCX / JAWS), a talented and creative producer from Wales, onboard to open up new possibilities with the aim to create something with a polished production and huge melodies and choruses. With a fresh single in the pipeline the band are gearing up to hit the road running with new tour dates, so keep your eyes and ears peeled as the band road test new material at a venue near you...

Catch them live at the following dates:

NOV 2017
09 Worcester Marrs Bar
25 Leeds Kazoopa Festival
30 London Sebright Arms - Abbie McCarthy's Good Karma Club

DEC 2017
01 Manchester The Castle Hotel
02 Birmingham Sunflower Lounge
03 Glasgow Garage (Attic Bar)
07 Brighton The Hope and Ruin
09 Southampton Heartbreakers
10 Guildford The Boileroom

The RPMs are:
Jack Valero - guitar, vocals
Miguel Cosme - bass guitar, vocals
Callum James - drums, vocals
Ollie Summers - lead guitar
Chris Bowden - keyboards

The RPMs Tour Dates & Tickets
Print Print | Sitemap
All content Copyright Melographic unless stated